History of Lysaght Institute
Bringing Newport together since 1928
Built by the joint efforts of the firm of John Lysaght Ltd and its employees, of the Orb Steelworks, “The Stute” as it was known, opened its doors in December 1928. Standing in over eight acres of grounds, it boasted a ballroom, billiard room, skittle alley, public bar and lounge. “The Stute” provided Orb Steelworkers and their families with a wide range of social activities and events for many years. The Institute closed its doors for the last time in 2001 and sadly the building deteriorated rapidly.
Bought by Linc-Cymru, we have invested £3 million to transform this iconic building into an exciting new meeting, conference and events venue fit for the 21’st century.
Highly finished with state of the art AV equipment, our facilities include meetings and conference rooms, coffee shop, IT suite, large and small function rooms, original balconies and landscaped gardens. We even have on-site child care facilities! So whether it’s a meeting, conference, wedding, party or community activity, Lysaght offers a unique and special venue, to suit your needs.
For further information, quotes and tours contact our friendly sales team on:
T: 01633 284911